[colug-432] GMail and Alpine

gmail tje210 at gmail.com
Fri Dec 23 16:37:33 EST 2011

An nslookup provides the IP, and a whois on the IP says that it belongs to
Google.  So it doesn't really seem to be a strange server, just one that
has a nondescript name.
On Dec 23, 2011 12:48 PM, "Joshua Kramer" <joskra42.list at gmail.com> wrote:

> Howdy All,
> Is anyone using Alpine with GMail?  I've set it up so that I can read my
> gmail via ssh.  However, when I went to send an e-mail, some server asks
> for authentciation:
> iy-in-f108.1e100.net
> I'm sure that Google probably uses localized SMTP servers, but I'm wary of
> providing my credentials to some strange server somewhere.  Has anyone else
> encountered this?
> Thanks!
> -JK
> _______________________________________________
> colug-432 mailing list
> colug-432 at colug.net
> http://lists.colug.net/mailman/listinfo/colug-432
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.colug.net/pipermail/colug-432/attachments/20111223/bc5f420d/attachment.html 

More information about the colug-432 mailing list